About the
Sevenhill Hotel

The town of Sevenhill was named in honour of the Seven Hills of Rome, Italy. The town was established in 1851 by Father Aloysius Kranewitter, of St Aloysius Church.
The Sevenhill Hotel opened in 1863 as the "Black Eagle" Hotel, making it over 150 years old. It was opened by Anton Kranewitter, the brother of Father Kranewitter.
In 1918 the hotel changed its name from "Black Eagle" to "Sevenhill".
Clare Valley’s iconic pub, the Sevenhill Hotel, is living up to its name as the friendliest pub in the region with managers, Paul Longbottom and Kate Shadiac, receiving excellent feedback from locals and tourists alike.
Married couple Paul & Kate have both had hotel experience. Paul has worked in hotels for over 15 years and it has always been his long term goal to run his own hotel. Kate has also had hotel experience, previously managing hotels. They have two children.
“We are really pleased with how the business is going and are enjoying the challenges of running a family hotel,” Kate Shadiac, Director of the Sevenhill Hotel said. “We have had great support from our local customers and it’s fantastic to see where our transient trade is coming from and how they are hearing about us. We are really enjoying putting great food on the table for our customers and the positive feedback is always good to hear.”
The Sevenhill Hotel is a versatile venue with many different areas for everyone to enjoy. The well stocked cellar has become a feature for diners and offers an outstanding range of local wines to enjoy at the hotel or to takeaway. The outdoor area is great for family dining with room for the kids to play on the lawns while dad can watch sport on the giant screen.
Paul & Kate strive to be involved with the local community, supporting local produce and wineries.

History of the Hotel

In 1988 a time capsule was cemented into one of the walls!

Discovering there was limited published history on the Sevenhill Hotel, Publican Kate Shadiac compiled together 151 years from what she could source from the online newspapers, local historical groups and the community.
The finished product is nearly 50 pages of articles and photos divided into the years various licensees had the hotel.